--- id: deleting_and_hiding_channel sidebar_position: 13 title: Deleting And Hiding A Channel --- Remove Channels By Deleting Or Hiding ### Deleting a Channel You can delete a Channel using the delete method. This marks the channel as deleted and hides all the content. ```dart await channel.delete(); ``` Note: If you recreate this channel, it will show up empty. Recovering old messages is not currently supported via the Stream Chat API. ### Hiding a Channel Hiding a channel will remove it from query channel requests for that user until a new message is added. Please keep in mind that hiding a channel is only available to members of that channel. Optionally you can also clear the entire message history of that channel for the user. This way, when a new message is received, it will be the only one present in the channel. ```dart // hides the channel until a new message is added there await channel.hide(); // shows a previously hidden channel await channel.show(); // hide the channel and clear the message history await channel.hide(clearHistory: true); ``` Note: You can still retrieve the list of hidden channels using the { "hidden" : true } query parameter.